The Ivors Composer Awards are presented to composers in recognition of works which have received their UK premiere during the awards year.

Anyone can enter a work, including the composer or sonic artist. To be eligible, works must have received a UK premiere public performance, either live or broadcast, between 1st April 2018 and 31st March 2019 and the composer must have been born in the UK, or have been ordinarily resident during a specified period of time.

Since 2003, we have been recognising exceptional talent in classical, jazz and sonic art composition. For the last 15 years, our awards were known as the British Composer Awards, but from 2019 they are The Ivors Composer Awards.

As an award presented by fellow composers and songwriters to their peers, an Ivor Novello Award is a uniquely authentic and respected recognition of craft. The Academy holds a public call for entries and all eligible submissions are reviewed by juries specifically appointed by the Academy.

The Ivors Composer Awards are sponsored by PRS for Music. The event is in association with BBC Radio 3 providing exclusive broadcast coverage.

Eligibility for The Ivors Composer Awards 2019

(a) Composer must have been born in the UK or have been ordinarily resident in the UK from 1 April 2014 until 31 March 2019.

(b) Works must have received their UK première in a public performance, either live or broadcast, between 1 April 2018 and 31 March 2019.

For the avoidance of doubt, streaming via a digital platform does not constitute a public performance; except in the case of Sound Art if the work has been specifically created to be accessed via a digital platform.
For the avoidance of doubt, if the public performance is a broadcast, the work must have been broadcast in its entirety on a UK based radio station.

(c) Works must have been completed after 1 April 2008.

(d) Please note additional category eligibility criteria is outlined on the individual category pages


For more information and to submit a work for the Ivor Composer Awards 2019, please see their website.

The deadline for entries is Friday, 12th July 2019.